Our first Halloween tree!

Our first Halloween tree is up!

Daytime/night time shot. It took me awhile to get to this point but I’m quite pleased with it!

Sometime in August I decided I wanted to try to set up my first Halloween tree ever. Not really my thing but being stuck in quarantine, it kind of became something to cheer me up plus I love our tree because I can program the lights myself. I initially programmed the lights with a candy-corn colors but for the final tree I went with purple and orange.

The tree also sat quite bare and dingy looking for some time. I had only a few ornaments and it didn’t look complete at all. I had some eyeball ornaments I loved but they weren’t enough. I decided to make more out of materials I had on hand. Here’s how they came out:

I was pleased at first until I put them on the tree and determined they looked rather uninteresting. They didn’t pack the punch I thought they would and I knew I needed to snazz them up a bit. 

I went online and found some ideas for a circular paper fan and gave it a shot! Here’s how they came out:


What I did was take 3 identical squares, fold them up like tiny fans, then folded those fans in half and glued them together. Pretty simple stuff! I added my claw-made glittery eyeball embellishments along with some others I had (store-bought) and couldn’t have been happier with the change!

I then removed the bare scraps I had on the tree and rearranged everything, swapped the light colors and was finally done.

I’m really proud of my lil ornaments! It gave me inspiration and confidence to be able to customize my own ornaments even for Christmas or all-year around if I wish.

The best part is that my 2-year-old hasn’t even destroyed anything yet surprisingly!

In addition to the ornaments above, I also made these little ghouls.


I used extremely cheap $1 skulls from Dollar Tree, painted them a mossy green hue and added translucent glitter to them and gave ‘em a simple eye sparkle. I’m not normally a fan of glittery skulls but these are exactly what I wanted! I didn’t take any progress pics on these but you get the picture.

That sums up my tree for this year! I’m really excited about it and love looking at it everyday. Makes my home feel like a home for sure! (spooky home) Couldn’t be happier!

I’ll be updating this post soon with a video of my tree!